About the Court

Locations and Directions

The Lakewood Municipal Court is located inside Lakewood City Hall.

12650 Detroit Avenue, Lakewood, Ohio 44107

From the East: Take I-90 West to the W 117TH ST. exit; Go NORTH on W 117TH ST. and follow to DETROIT AVE.; Turn LEFT onto DETROIT AVE. and follow to the LAKEWOOD MUNICIPAL COURT.

From the West: Take I-90 East to the WARREN RD. exit; Go North on WARREN RD. and follow to DETROIT AVE.; Turn RIGHT onto DETROIT AVE. and follow to the LAKEWOOD MUNICIPAL COURT.

Hours of Operation

Monday through Friday - 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Closed on legal holidays.

Traffic arraignment sessions are every Tuesday at 1:00 p.m. (excluding legal holidays).

Criminal arraignment sessions are every Thursday at 1:00 p.m. (excluding legal holidays).


Territorial jurisdiction is the City of Lakewood, portions of Cleveland Metropolitan Parks, U.S. Interstate 90 and adjacent Lake Erie waters to the Canadian Border.

Criminal and Traffic jurisdiction includes all misdemeanor classifications and felony arraignments and preliminary hearing proceedings.

Monetary jurisdiction in Civil Proceedings is $15,000 and Small Claims Proceedings is limited to $6,000.


Lakewood Municipal Court was created effective January 1, 1928 by the Ohio General Assembly and is governed by Title 1901 of the Ohio Revised Code.

Judges That Have Served The Lakewood Municipal Court:

  1. Tess Neff, 2022 - Present
  2. Patrick Carroll, 1990 - 2021
  3. Harold J. Craig, 1970 - 1989
  4. Richard L. McNelly, 1968 - 1970
  5. Stephen H. Hazelwood, 1953 - 1967
  6. Alpheus A. Stephens, 1945 - 1953
  7. Henry J. Williams, 1933 - 1945
  8. Ira D. Lucal, 1933
  9. Jacob H. Schoen, 1928 - 1932
  10. Matt P. Walther, 1928 - 1945